29
Apr
12

Homemade Granola Bars – For real this time!

So if you read my last post you know I tried making Granola Bars and ended up making Baked Oatmeal! Now that was pretty yummy but not the intent.  So I finally got around to making the real thing so I thought I would share with you my results.

 

First off there are quite a few ingredients (don’t get scared!) I actually was surprised to realize I had most of these things in my cupboard already. So here ya go, you will need the following:

3 Cups Oatmeal

1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour (use regular if you don’t have it- no sweat!)

1/4 Cup Flax Seed Meal

1/2 Cup Wheat Germ

1 tsp Salt

1 tsp Cinnamon (I used a few extra we really like Cinnamon)

1 tsp Ginger (optional)

1 Tsp Nutmeg (optional)

1/4 Cup Brown Sugar

2 Cups Dried Fruit or Nuts or Chocolate Chips ( I used Craisons cause it’s what I had)

1 Egg

2 Tsp Vanilla

1/3 Cup Vegetable Oil

1/2 Cup Honey (I might have used a bit more)

1 Mashed Banana

2 Tbsp Applesauce

2 Tbsp Peanut Butter (If allergic to Peanuts just add another banana or twice the applesauce)

Cry IngredientsFirst mix all of your dry ingredients; Oatmeal, Flour, Flax Seed, Wheat Germ, Salt, Cinnamon, Brown Sugar, Ginger, Nutmeg. Mix all together and make a well in the center. Feel free to add a little more or a little less of the Cinnamon, Nutmeg & Ginger you are making your Granola Bars so make them taste yummy to you!

Now add the rest! Egg, Vanilla, Vegetable Oil, Honey, Mashed Banana, Peanut Butter, Applesauce. At this point the consistence of your final product is in your hands! If you want a crunchier Granola Bar stick close to the wet measurements!  If you want a softer chewier Granola Bar add a lThe whole shebang!ittle more Honey or Applesauce. Not too much just one or two extra Tablespoons.

 

 

 

 

 

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Now you need to Spray a 9X13 baking pan or a cookie sheet with nonstick baking spray. I chose to use

Ready for the Oven!

a baking pan because I wanted thick and chewy Granola Bars.  For thinner crispier bars use a baking sheet. Now spread the mixture evenly in the pan.  Use a sheet of wax paper or parchment paper to help you spread it evenly without getting your hands all gooey! Then pop it into a 350 degree oven for 15-20 minutes.

 

Once they come out of the oven let them cool in the pan on a baking rack for 5-10 minutes.  Then you want to make sure you cut them before they cool or they might be too hard to cut!  I removed them from the pan and let them cool completely on a baking rack.

 

Once they were cool go ahead and chow down-  I sure did!!!  These are super yummy!  My kids love Granola Bars and I am so happy to be able to make some that they love just as much as Quaker but are made with love by me!

 

I promise these are really Granola Bars and you will really like them!

Finished Product so Yummy!

 

I found the original recipe on Pinterest  http://therealhousewife.com/blog/goin-granola/

1 Response to “Homemade Granola Bars – For real this time!”


  1. 1 yvonnecontecom
    April 29, 2012 at 9:55 am

    they were soooooo goood!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

