13
Apr
12

Baked Oatmeal by Accident!

So I have recently gotten hooked on Pinterest. It is slightly addicting and I am trying very hard to keep my addiction under control.  So this afternoon I saw a Pin which read “baked Oatmeal to go instead of Granola Bars” but somehow all that registered in my brain was GRANOLA BARS. So I repined it and thought what a great idea I am totally making those! So I got out all the ingredients:

  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Cups Applesauce, unsweetened
  • 5 Cups, Old Fashioned Rolled Oats
  • 1 Banana
  • 2 3/4 Cups Almond Milk
  • 3/4 Cup Honey
  • 1/4 Cup Flaxseed Meal
  • 1 Tablespoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 3 Teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1 Teaspoon Salt
  • Optional Toppings: raisins, walnuts,  chocolate chips

 

 

I followed the directions to a T:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix eggs, vanilla, applesauce, banana & honey
  3. Add oats, salt, baking powder, flaxseed & cinnamon mix well
  4. Pour in milk and combine

    Ready for the Oven!

  5. Spray muffin tins w/cooking spray or use cupcake liners.
  6. If using fresh fruit, add before filling cups.  If using toppings add after filling cups.
  7. Bake 30 minutes until a toothpick in center comes out clean!

 
So I mixed them up and popped the bad boys in the oven fully expecting to have granola bars when they were done.  Um hello???  It’s not like I haven’t baked before how would my kids eat a 3 inch think granola bar! Yep I was really thinking clearly.  So after 30 minutes to my surprise I have a dense cupcake…what happened to my granola bars? I immediately go back to my aforementioned PIN. Oh isn’t that crazy how it says quite clearly Personalized Baked Oatmeal!!!  LOL Yep

 

Now that being said!!!!  I tossed one of those babies in my mouth and was delighted!  What a great idea for breakfast.  My kids love oatmeal and I know it only takes a few minutes in the microwave but hey I made this myself! So the directions from Sugar-Free Mom say that I can just plop these suckers in the freezer so that is what I intend to do!  Some times the best surprised come from the biggest accidents!

Yummy Yummy BAKED OATMEAL!


2 Responses to “Baked Oatmeal by Accident!”


  1. 1 NutriTalks
    April 13, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    Those look really good- and I love oatmeal so thanks for the idea!


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers

Blog Stats

  • 32,833 hits